Ask Questions, Get Answers
5
Points
Asked by IanHulett - 11 months ago
As you all know, I'm vegan and strict when it comes to that. My aunt bought me a vegetarian lasagna and she said "If there's an ingredient you can't have, let me know." I found that it contains caseinate which is a milk derived protein. But I also read online that a lot of the non-dairy foods that are vegan has casein or caseinate in it. According to this site:
http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2009/09/c...
Casein is a complete protein, meaning it contains all essential amino acids. That doesn't mean it is ONLY found in milk... right? If it is just a protein containing all amino acids then maybe it's found somewhere else too. Can you tell me if it's good for me to eat?
Best Answer
labarca Level 64
Answered 11 months ago
3
Sorrfy Ian.

As it is derived from milk, casein is not vegan but it is vegetarian. Although many vegans do not mind a small amount of casein in their soy cheese, most avoid these products.

Caseinates, such as calcium caseinate, potassium caseinate and sodium caseinate are derived from casein and as such, are also not vegan.

http://vegetarian.about.com/od/glossary/...
Additional Details added 11 months ago
not only sorrfy but sorry also.
Additional Details added 11 months ago
Additional Details added 11 months ago
Here's a list you may bot be aware of, and it includes Oreps.
http://www.peta.org/living/vegetarian-li...
Compliments from
All Answers
Sort By
Show
Gumboy Level 55 / fun guy
Answered 11 months ago
4
No, any caseinate isn't vegan, even though sodium caseinate is used in
some products marked as "non-dairy".> http://vegetarian.about.com/od/glossary/...
There are several kinds of caseinate -
From what vegans should avoid list
casein: Ammonium Caseinate. Calcium Caseinate. Potassium Caseinate. Sodium Caseinate. The principle protein of cow's milk. Use/s: texturizer for ice cream, frozen custard, ice milk, fruit sherbets, and in special diet preparations.
Sodium caseinate is produced by reacting the acid
casein with sodium hydroxide.
calcium caseinate - Calcium caseinate is a protein derived from the casein
in milk.
Casein is known to vegans as that tricky ingredient that is derived from
cows milk, and thus not vegan.
Compliments from
More Questions about Health
Need Answers Instantly?
About this Question
Answered
- Compliments
2 Answers
564 Views
Question Discussion
Top Users this Week
joensf Level 78 PhD
+1K
Exp
labarca Level 64 PhD
+1K
Exp
faxman Level 27 High School
+956
Exp
kelarsen Level 35 College
+906
Exp
korthal Level 35 College
+645
Exp
Additional Links