Ask Questions, Get Answers
0
Points
Asked by jozz - 5 years ago
At what age should a puppy be sold?
All Answers
Sort By
Show
kc5255 Level 38 / Out of the Workforce
Answered 5 years ago
-
How old must a puppy be prior to being offered for sale?”

The answer to this question, like just about any question in law, depends on where you live. Approximately fifteen states have laws that state how old a puppy must be before it is offered for sale or adopted out to an owner. Three additional states have administrative regulations that give a minimum age for puppy sales. Of those states with laws, thirteen require that a puppy be at least eight weeks old before being offered for sale. Of the remaining five states, two states (Pennsylvania and Virginia) mandate that a puppy be at least seven weeks old and one state (Nebraska) requires that a puppy reaches six weeks. Two states do not speak to a definitive age; rather, these two states (Illinois and Nevada) make it unlawful for to sell a puppy who has not been weaned from his or her mother. (Click here to see a table that breaks down each law with a link to the text of the statute).

One thing that is crucial to understand with these puppy sale laws is that they may not apply to everyone. In other words, the laws may be limited to a particular class of people, such as dog breeders, kennel operators, or other animal facilities. About twelve of the eighteen states make it unlawful for any person to sell an underage puppy. The remaining states limit the provisions to pet shops, animal dealers, or breeders. Like many of the pet sale laws (generally known as “puppy lemon laws”), the focus of these laws is on curbing the distribution of puppies from unregulated sources like puppy mills rather than preventing sales by those not in the breeding business.

to read and learn more by click on this link
http://www.animallaw.info/articles/ovusp...
hbacon Level 1
Answered 5 years ago
-
Like others said about 6-8 weeks after mom has weened them and they are eating good on there own. Make sure their first vet visits and shots are done. Make new owner sign an agreement dealing with spaying or neutering if your not selling for breading purposes. And also sign a contract that if they want ot get rid of the puppy they have to bring it back so they don't end up on the street!
smohpal Level 22 / ENGINEER
Answered 5 years ago
-
Generally speaking, a puppy taken away from it's mother and litter mates before seven weeks of age, may not realize its full potential as a dog and companion. To maximize the mental and psychological development of puppies, they must remain in the nest with their mother and litter mates until seven weeks of age.

For further details goto:
Related Questions
Need Answers Instantly?
About this Question
Answered
- Compliments
4 Answers
2K Views
Question Discussion
Top Users this Week
faxman Level 18 Middle School
+1K
Exp
labarca Level 61 PhD
+1K
Exp
joensf Level 75 PhD
+689
Exp
Sparky5458 Level 62 PhD
+618
Exp
Richard Level 73 PhD
+614
Exp
Additional Links